Tamales for Christmas……

Tamales 1
 Tradition. Its finally my turn to take over. I have been making Tamales with my Family since I was a little girl. They are work. I could never get them just right. After making 200 of them with my Mom, I think I finally got it.  Some of my Family members were supposed to come and help….. Oh no, they showed up today to pick them up. Thanks Family. I did have one of my Best Girlfriend over. She has been asking for years to learn how. She helped for 3 hours. She loved it and she said they were the best Tamales she ever had. Thanks for your help Laurie! We started at 10 and we were finished at 5:30. 

Here is the process:

YOU SOAK THE HUSKS

Tamales3
 

YOU MARINATE AND COOK THE PORK, PREPARE THE MASA AND CHOP THE VEGETABLES

Tamales 4

HERE IS THE ASSEMBLY LINE UP

1. 

Tamales 5
Tamales 6
2.

Tamales 7
3.

Tamales 8
4.

Tamales9
5.

Tamales 10

It was fun doing something like this with just my Mom. 

Here I am with proof that I helped. I plan on being a little more ambitious next year and making a batch by myself. Merry Christmas everyone. 

Tamales 11
        

8 Responses to “Tamales for Christmas……”

  1. Brenda Kula Says:

    Sounds to me to be a wonderful (and quite tasty) tradition!
    Brenda

  2. Sue M Says:

    Hooray for you. I love the smile on your face. Have a wonderful holiday!

  3. Sylvia Says:

    Ohhhhh I remember making tamales too when I was a little girl…I sure miss them, they are sooo good! Happy Holidays.

  4. Megan Says:

    I heart tamales!! My grandma used to make them for the family. They sure look good!! Happy New Year.

  5. Joy For the Journey Says:

    My husband often talks about ‘Christmas Tomales’ from his childhood…this is the first time I’ve actually seen them! Thanks for sharing!
    Sarah

  6. JoieDeVivre Says:

    Thanks for sharing the beautiful photos of the homemade talames. That was wonderful cooking with your mom around the holidays. That is the true essence of Christmas being with the ones we love and making memories.

  7. Karen Says:

    I love tamales. This year, a lady came to my home and taught a bunch of us how to make them. I got the stuff to do them at Christmas, but didn’t get a chance. When I look in the cupboard and see that bag of tamale flour stuff (can’t remember the name), it calls to me to get it done! Soon! Thanks for the inspiration! Karen

  8. Term Papers Says:

    Belated, but none the less heartfelt, Merry Christmas to you and yours!! And hope the New Year is much bette than it appears it is going to be!

Leave a Reply

