Cheap tricks and Thank you cards……

Its the day before I go back to work….. Its rainy and cold outside. Perfect time to make some Thank You cards. When I make thank you cards it takes me all day. Kind of like making tamales, I make at least 100. It is so much easier than getting the stuff out again and again. I have a cheap trick to share. One day I ran out of my brown ink pad. I went to the 99 cent store and bought some brown shoe polish  and some cheap paint brushes and dabbed them on my art work. It stinks, but it works. You have to let it dry outside so the shoe polish smell goes away. Cheap I know, but we like cheap around here. Here are some of my many thank you cards:Img_2324 Img_2331

I also make the cards from my own card stock and make my own envelopes (sometimes). The scraps that are left are not unused. here are little Etsy thank you cards left over:Img_2333_2 Img_2332  I also made a little bundle for my Mom…..

I also had to share a yummy new energy bar I am addicted to….Img_2334 They taste like the Sweet and Salty nut bars… but they are much healthier! When I need some energy and don’t have allot of time…OK sounding like a commercial….. Also had to share one more page  for a Valentine collaboration I am in….Img_2327

23 Responses to “Cheap tricks and Thank you cards……”

  1. Judy Scott Says:

    Hello Lilia I’m leaving this comment to let you know that I have awarded you with a You Make My Day Award. I love your blog its filled with so much joy and it always makes me happy. Love Judy xx

  2. Mendy Says:

    Girlie…should have asked me…I’ve used that shoe polish trick for a while now! LOVE the wonderful browns!! I have to try that energy bar! Hugs, Mendy

  3. Katy Says:

    You are amazing – how do you find the time?
    Sure love your talent! Katy in North Carolina

  4. Monicaa Says:

    Hey you
    love all the pretty cards!
    Doesnt time fly? I cant believe we are already into a new year and I will be in Japan in less than 6 …wow~

  5. jessi nagy Says:

    what beautiful cards!!!
    the polish idea, clever!
    i will try those bars, i LOVE salted nut rolls, not very healthy!
    jessi

  6. Lisa Says:

    It’s been way too long since I was here last. I had forgotten just how beautiful it always is!! I will have to try that bar. I have yet to find one that I can stand to eat. lol

  7. Bristol Says:

    Love the Thank You cards. Good idea with the shoe polish. Have a great week.
    Bristol

  8. Marilyn Says:

    Love all the Valentine themed things! Happy New Year, girlie! HUGS!

  9. britt-sparkled vintage charm Says:

    OOh! love the shoe polish trick! Sometimes I use brown eyeshadow on my art to give it an aged look. I make my cards and envelopes most of the time too. your thank you cards turned out adorable!! I will have to try that energy bar! sounds great!! xo Britt 🙂

  10. Tina Wright Says:

    Cute cards..another cheep fix: walnut ink..keep it in crystals and mix it when you need it!! no stink~ Love your blog and would like to add it to mine, do you mind?? thanks, tina

  11. janae Says:

    I LOVE your thank you cards – so sweet! And the commercial tip is great!! I am always wondering how you ladies do it – mothers,wives, crafters, decorators, housekeeprs, etc. I just got back in the crafting saddle and my hubby is complaining he feels like an orphan!! Anyway – love the page will be back to visit again soon!

  12. emily Says:

    I love the thank you cards! So sweet, thanks for the tip! I gotta try it!

  13. Susan Ramey Cleveland Says:

    Your cards are beautiful.

  14. Casii Says:

    Shoe polish, I love it! I’ll have to raid the hubby’s closet to try it out sometime.
    Love all those cards!

  15. Roxie Says:

    Thanks for the tip. Once I ran out also, I went into my makeup bag and grabbed some brownish blush and dusted in on like chalk. Worked like a charm!
    Love your thank you cards, so very pretty and feminine. Love it all, you are a very creative and artsy lady.

  16. connie Says:

    I use the Kiwi brown shoe polish sponge when teaching…
    you hold it like a big lipstick and w/ a twist it is dispensed.
    Then no need for a brush~and it does not smell as bad!
    Your cards are lovely 🙂 Happy new Year~*

  17. Devonia Says:

    Your beautiful cards are scrumptious! How do you find time to do all of these gorgeous items and work too? I’m amazed.

  18. Devonia Says:

    Your beautiful cards are scrumptious! How do you find time to do all of these gorgeous items and work too? I’m amazed.

  19. Renee Kyweriga Says:

    Your cards look beautiful and I just love your cheap trick. That is so fabulous. Thanks for sharing!

  20. MarilynH Says:

    My favorite energy bar (i eat them because they have enough protein to keep the carbs from making my blood sugar rise) is The Zone—Chocolate Almond Raisin. Sooooo yummmy!!! very strong almond flavor, if you like that sort of thing. And they don’t have that icky energy bar fake chocolate molasses taste that most of them have.

  21. Laura Bray Says:

    Love the thank you cards! Is that the spread in my book? Oh! I hope so.

  22. AshleyL. Says:

    what lovely cards!
    i hope you don’t mind but i just mentioned you and your blog in my post today! i also used one of your photographs off of flickr! stop by to check it out when you get a chance! i’m loving your blog!

  23. jenny holiday Says:

    Ok Lilia….you are just toooo fab for words! These thank you cards are edible!! So so so sweet!! Just perfect in every way!! I could stare at these photos all day!! GORGEOUS!!
    As always..your blog just oozes inspiration and loveliness!! Thank you for all that you share!
    Best WIshes!!!
    xoxo Jenny

Leave a Reply

