Unwrapping some little presents for Christmas..

Well you all know why us Mexicans have tamales for Christmas right? So we have something to unwrap! he he…. I love, love , love Tamales! Big Mexican tradition. I have to show you some pictures of the process. I got to my Mom’s house just in time… while they were almost all made. I know, bad Daughter! Img_2133  This is an all day process.. but 300 tamales later, you don’t want to see one again until next Christmas! Everyone makes them a little different. Our family recipe includes masa , 1 slice of carrot,  1 sliced potato, seasoned pork, olives, a green bell pepper…..yum!Img_2147 Img_2145 Img_2149 Img_2156 Well, Feliz Navidad everyone!

21 Responses to “Unwrapping some little presents for Christmas..”

  1. Freda Says:

    Love the pictures…reminds me of my family too! My grandma, mom & aunts made the tamales this year. Pretty soon it will be my responsibility to keep the tradition alive…
    Do you make sweet ones too? They are the best!

  2. suzi finer Says:

    Happy Holidays to you!
    Love.

  3. Debbie Says:

    wow, that looks amazingly good.

  4. Joy Says:

    ~*~Merry Christmas!!!*
    Hope you have a wonderful day!

  5. vicki Says:

    Oh My Goodness – Are those home made tamales????? I just love those – Happy Holidays Lilia – happy to hear you are all settled into your new home !!

  6. Nicole Says:

    Yuuummmm….I miss tamales sooo much. Hard to find a good one in NYC. 😦

  7. Gypsy Purple Says:

    Wishing you a blessed and merry Christmas….may you have peace, joy and love….

  8. Linda Says:

    Hi, Your post on tamales hit home, and your pictures brought back memories. Thanks for sharing. I’m sure they were as delicious as they look.

  9. Susan Ramey Cleveland Says:

    I love the pictures. I’ll bet those tamales were delicious.

  10. Donna Says:

    I want some!

  11. Mary Says:

    What beautiful memories for you and your daughter!
    Hugs,
    Mary

  12. cathy Says:

    it makes me hungry.

  13. Kim Says:

    damn!
    you KNOW this has been one of my life-long Xmas wishes…to be one of the girls en la cucina con las mujeres viejas MAKING TAMALES! DRAT! They had a tamale making party down the street frm my mom & dad’s on the 23rd (‘Nard is a BIG Mexican town) and i just couldn’t muster the energy. Another oppty missed. Dangit! One of these years….
    Hope you guys had a merry in your new digs. Uncle D sent little D a lil sumptin to fill her stocking…hope she liked it!

  14. mike Says:

    Hope you had a blessed Christmas. Best wishes for the coming year!

  15. miki Says:

    I hope you had a wonderful holiday!

  16. Grace Says:

    Oh we are huge Mexican food eaters here at our house. Less then 4 meals a week is just too little where Mexican food is concerned. We had tamales Christmas week too, but I didn’t make them. Yum, love those pickled jalapenos and carrots! So addictive.

  17. the farmers wife Says:

    Homemade tamales!!! Drats. It was my favorite part of Christmas when I lived in San Antonio. They’re pretty hard to come by in northern Illinois.

  18. kamagong Says:

    The foods looks delicious i wish i could have those tamales.

  19. Lisa Guidry Says:

    OMGosh! I found your blog via many other blog paths and am so happy to see that I am not the only Mexican Studio Artist who blogs 😉
    I WISH I would have been back home for Christmas as I didnt get any tamales this year 😦
    They look delish! Enjoy!

  20. Sally Says:

    You sure don’t have to be Mexican to love, love, love tamales on Christmas! My friends give them to me every year (haha, I don’t have to do all the work!). They are fabulous!
    Happy new year!

  21. shabbyjuls Says:

    My husband is Mexican and we love those Tamales my mother in law makes every year too…just yummy and fun. She actually makes an extra few dozen for each family and we have a huge gathering with our friends to share…..fun traditions.

Leave a Reply

