A Vintage Picnic basket….

Img_1142 On Tuesday I packed a picnic basket for a couple of my fellow teachers. I made some sandwiches then wrapped them up in butcher paper and tied them with twine. I also had some Salt and Vinegar chips and some Ice cold Pop. I told you I love picnics! They said I have too much time on my hands and the funny thing is I really don’t! Do you ever wonder how other Women do it? I mean really, between a full time job, a child, a house to run and yourself to take care of….. are you as tired as me at night? I have friends that have 4 children! How on Earth? Last night I hit the pillow so hard at the earliest hour I think I have in I cant remember when…. 8:30. I rested with my daughter at her bedtime and she went out pretty quick . I could not get out of her bed, so I said heck with it! and I fell asleep. I wish I could get the secret on how everyone manages. I guess we all have our ways. I am learning that we cant get it all done and to just let things go. So hard for me…… one of my friends asked me if "Me" time was on Sundays and I said yes…. but "Me" time isn’t really about me…. it means being alone as I run errands. Oh well ! It still is the best job on Earth! I had to share this Vintage goodie with you:Img_1152  It is a vintage hanger…… it is pink and it spins! I have so many plans for this cool thing! I might have to get another one… to make a baby mobile.  right now it is holding vintage hankies….. and birdies. Well that’s all for now……… Friday tomorrow!

17 Responses to “A Vintage Picnic basket….”

  1. Rachel & Kerry Says:

    The picnic looks divine! What a special treat for your friends. About the “me” time, I totally understand. There is not much “me” if you’re a mom. But it’s all still good.

  2. ~liz Says:

    No I do not know how other women do/did it. But take it from me who has been there, done that. My kids are grown and all is well but TAKE YOUR ME TIME AND MAKE IT ME TIME AND DO IT NOW and do it all along. Don’t let the years go by (and they will quickly) and look back on 2 decades (yes I say decades) of your life and say where is me? It is such a gradual natural process, losing oneself, that you won’t even know it happens. I am saying to you now. Don’t let it happen. Balance it all but make sure that part of that balance is YOU TIME. Do it. Take that class, play with your art, stay in shape, have date night etc etc. I am sure your are doing all of these things just make sure you keep doing them. ~best

  3. ~liz Says:

    p.s. I love that picanic basket. I used to have a couple of those. So nice of you to do that for your teachers.

  4. Grace Says:

    I’m so glad you posted this. I was starting to feel like a lonely only – one in a million that couldn’t quite get my act together. Glad to know others wonder that same thing.
    What better way to end the week than with a picnic basket like that? You did a great job.

  5. elizabeth Says:

    oh that picnic basket looks devine!!
    and seriously girl, once you figure it out, can you please let me know? and silly me keeps adding to the list of things that i already don’t have time to accomplish.
    i’ll say it for the gazillionth time…I WISH I WAS A STAY AT HOME MOMMY!!!!

  6. Susan Ramey Cleveland Says:

    Where did you get the hanger? I love it.

  7. Sarah Says:

    Ok. Am I the only one who got the fact that you crashed VERY uncharacteristically early with your wee one AND that you may have to find another vintage hanger for a BABY mobile?!?!? I’ve been away on vacation so maybe I missed an announcement?? Or am I r.e.a.c.h.i.n.g. here?? πŸ˜‰

  8. Heidi Says:

    I agree with Liz’s advice above. But I also find myself exhausted at night–and I don’t even have kids yet!

  9. joyce Says:

    What a lovely picnic you packed for your friends. I know they meant well, but why do people say something like “you have too much time on your hands” instead of “wow, thank you for taking the time to do that!” There’s such a difference in the two. I think it’s wonderful that you chose to make it pretty for them. It’s definitely hard to fit everything in…maybe impossible? Like you, I have to let some things go sometimes. Usually the housework πŸ˜‰

  10. kat Says:

    me time is when i can take a 5 minute shower w/o gracie banging on the door. lol. seriously, thanks for coming over today, it was nice getting to speak to an adult!!! and you ask, how do we do it? you just gotta let stuff go, you should’ve seen my house before you arrived!

  11. Flea Market Queen Says:

    What a sweet picnic basket…lucky friends!
    Loving the pink vintage hanger,I want one too!
    Priscilla

  12. Cece Says:

    Love this post! So refreshing to know I am not the only one! I don’t even have kids yet but between keeping up with aging parents, the house, my business, maintainging friendships, “me” time goes straight to the back burner! Now that I think about it, I guess blogging is my “me” time! Isn’t it the just the greatest medium for sharing life with other like minded ladies! Oh, and I would be tickled pink if a friend planned a picnic like that for me!
    Speaking of pink…when I was a little girl in the 70’s I had a hanger like that that we got in China Town in San Francisco. I’ve been there not to long ago and they still make them but I haven’t seen a cute pink one, just red. Anyways, try your local China Town if you have one if you want to purchase more.
    πŸ™‚

  13. Sondra Says:

    I am a teacher, as well. Although, right now I’m wishing I worked with you. What a wonderful treat!!

  14. Kimla Cotropia Says:

    I too wonder (and marvel) at how other people seem to get it all done: raise children, work, take care of their homes, blog, update their etsy shoppes, and make art. I want the secret too as I often feel I’ve done an okay job if I make the bed, brush my teeth and clean the litter box! I’m so diggin’ the pink spinny hanger. Girl, where DO you get all your amazing finds??? I think I might have to make a flea market road trip to AZ one day! So pretty!!!

  15. vintage flair Says:

    I love the dress you made…your daughter is beautiful. I also adore the vintage hankies.
    Lori

  16. britt-sparkled vintage charm Says:

    cute idea!! love the hankies hanging from the holder and the birds are sooo cute!!

  17. Mary Says:

    Yes Lilia!
    I do wonder how you and evryone else goes thru your days so smoothly getting sooo much done! When we moved home states I was worried how I would get it all done…including walking to get moving boxes that I would later fill. I did everything (luckily no painting was needed! I think I need an exciting goal AND organization that EVERYONE better adhere to.
    I am so glad that you shared your trials AND your successes! There is hope!
    Hugs,
    Mary

Leave a Reply

