Lot of Treasures to share and a little roller coaster ride alon the way!

Img_8860 So many treasures to share this weekend! First, I made this little Easter Bunny Basket last night… cracks me up! OK, the next things is my roller coaster day yesterday. I had the day to myself, so I take advantage of it by Thrifting of course…..I could kick myself, I forgot to call my Thrifting pal Liz! Maybe this week girl??? OK, well I started off strong, hitting a new place with so many Treasures! and the best prices! Then I hit my other Treasure spots in Phoenix…. That’s where My roller coaster ride began! I was in a run-down part of Phoenix and was in the middle of hunting when I over-heard a lady say "can you believe a mother would do that?" I happened to look over at the cash register and saw this little boy sitting there with tears streaming down his face. I went over there and asked if he was OK, they said his Mom left him there and he has been there for over 2 hours!!! They said they could barely understand his broken English.. Well good thing I was there, I am fluent in Spanish. I asked him if he knew his phone number, address. He said "no".  I asked him his age, he said 7!! Ohh how could a kid that age not know his own number? I mean, at this point my head is spinning with so many thoughts and just mad at that mother for leaving this poor, disheveled little boy! Finally the policeman arrived and thats when he lost it! I had to calm him down by telling him he was here to help him. I translated as the cop asked him questions.. He said he knew how to walk to his house… I felt like I had to go with him because there was no way he was getting in that police car! Well, I went and he had us all over Phoenix and finally the cop said to me that this little boy does not know where he lived…he had to take him to the station. He dropped me back off at the store and left with the little boy’s face staring at me through the car window!  My heart aches for this little guy! I got in my car and lost it! I was a wreck the whole afternoon…… How could a mother do that????? Ohhh so sorry to get you down….Poor little guy though! Well no more sadness! I found some great things and finally finished Kari and Marylin’s books and they are off in the Mail tomorrow! Here are my finds:Img_8857 Img_8855 Img_8862  Let’s see The ledger book 4.50, the Vintage flashcards 75 cents, the porcelain doll 1 dollar, the beautiful ribbon 50 cents each, the Eiffel Tower Chess piece was 50 cents, tulle and fabric 1.00 each, the Mona Lisa was a dollar, Vintage Picture frame 1 dollar, the coolest powdered paint was 1 dollar for both, Vintage cloth bags to put hankies and gloves 1 dollar each, the Jewelry was 2.00 and less, The little Easter Die Cuts were a bag for 1 dollar, and the find of the day…….. Over 80 sheets of Vintage Sheet music for 25 cents a piece….. I think the guy thought I was getting a bad deal, because he took it down to 12 dollars!! OK here are the pages I did for Marylin’s Book:Img_8853 Img_8851 Img_8854 Hope you like them M! Happy Sunday!! Sorry for the downer story!

30 Responses to “Lot of Treasures to share and a little roller coaster ride alon the way!”

  1. Heather Says:

    Oh my…. what a sad story. That poor little boy!! What was his mother thinking!?!? It was wonderful of you to help him though!!!
    Your treasures are lovely…. and the book pages are incredible!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. ArtsyMama Says:

    Oh my!!! What a story. Poor little guy. Hope he found his mom. I can’t even imagine what she was thinking!! Great finds. Hope the rest of your weekend was more mellow. Love your work, as always. So inspiring!!!

  3. Vintage Flair Says:

    As a mother of two, I can’t image doing someothing like that. Oh my!
    I hate to switch like this…..but I love all of your finds. The journal pages are AMAZING. I am always pleased to visit your blog and you are full of inspiratoin!
    Lori
    http://vintageflair.typepad.com

  4. Anastasia Says:

    oh gee that is SO SO sad…what was the mother thinking??!! Ughh !!! hope it was all OK in the end…
    you come across the most amazing finds!

  5. Gypsy Purple--Chamara Says:

    I can just hear that the little boy is still in your thoughts…hope he is well
    You know…there is no one else that I would rather go thrifting with…you always have the greatest finds!!!!!
    Love the books…wish I can see every page

  6. Sue Mannel Says:

    Girl, your killing me with all that great stuff!
    Hugs~
    Sue

  7. Helle Greer Says:

    I’m sending good prayers out to that little boy.
    Great finds today, I’m going to post about some of mine tomorrow.
    AND… your pages… what can I say other than DeliSH!!!
    Love them.
    Smiles,
    Helle

  8. Dawn Says:

    Your downer story shows your tender heart. Hope the little guy will be ok.
    Love love love your pages and all your new stash! Wowza!

  9. missy j Says:

    Hi there.
    Your work is wonderful. Simply eye candy. I received the wall paper pack and the darling tag. Now the challenge is to create something as beautiful as I see on your blog!
    Have a great day!

  10. Barbara Says:

    ALthough I feel so bad for the little boy, I am so happy you were there to provide some comfort. And look, you were rewarded with abundant treasures!!! LOVE the pages too!!! EXCEPTIONALLY STUNNING!!! Bet the recipients can hardly wait to receive their books!

  11. Vicki Grobels Says:

    Sorry to hear about that little boy – he was lucky to have you there to talk to.
    I wanted to ask you – the books you did in these photos look like they are on cardboard and then put together with jump rings would you just let me know if this is how it is done.
    thanks
    Vicki

  12. Kimberly Kwan Says:

    oh my word…i am crying for that poor little guy!
    you’re right…you were an angel there for him…just think how scary it woudl have been (even scarrier, if that’s possible) not having anyone understand you! i hope he found his home…and i hope this is the ONLY time that mama is allowed to do THAT!
    (The books look delish, btw!)

  13. Renee Says:

    What a horrible story! You must have been in that shop for a reason, and you found some fabulous things! Wow what a cute selection, and love the Easter basket you made. Renee x

  14. jenny holiday Says:

    Oh my goodness, what a sad story! Aaron and just sat shaking our heads. Have you called to see what the outcome was? I truly hope his mother didn’t have this planned. Let’s hope for the best!!!
    On a lighter note..your finds are just tooo fabulous!! And ohhh the books you have been working on are such TREASURES!! What lucky lucky lucky girls!! I adore everything you do!!
    Have a great week!!
    xoxo Jenny

  15. ScottInNYC Says:

    What a sad story. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    Congratulations on your “flea finds.”
    Great photos!

  16. Heather Says:

    OMG how on earth can anyone think that it is ok for a little child be left alone like that? I am so sad to hear that and to know that that little boy will probably not be given back to his mother. I can’t imagine him not knowing his address! My 3 YEAR OLD KNOWS HER ADDRESS!! UGH, I am sorry you had to experience that. I am glad you found some fun treasures to help balance out the angst of the day.
    xo

  17. shabbyinthecity Says:

    I hope the mother didn’t blame him for running off and made it look like it was the child’s fault…
    I’m trying to learn spanish because I really love my little neighbors! They are teaching me.

  18. MarilynH Says:

    Sometimes this world really sucks. Lilia—you were supposed to be there at that time to help that little boy. If you find out how it turned out for the little guy, let us know.
    Your finds are killing me!!! I can’t wait to go to Phoenix in June ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. Heidi Says:

    I had good luck thrifting while visiting Phoenix lately. I wrote about it on my blog. Love those Easter die cuts!

  20. Mendy Says:

    Wow! What a day you had! Well, just feel good because you did everything you could to help!! You were the superhero of the day! Poor little guy…gosh, he should have known his phone number and address. The Kindergarteners in my classroom knew all of that by age 5 1/2!

  21. Aina Says:

    First, thank you for leaving me a comment, that made me happy ๐Ÿ™‚
    Oh my god what a story!!! And poor boy ! I truly also cant understand that a mother could just drop the boy and leave him alone. I cant relate to that kind of thinking! And now, i know you a little bit better through your posts, and i can soooo understand your reaction to all of it. It makes no sense at all. What a weard world we are living in..
    I love your finds though, specially The little Easter Die Cuts!! Love them!! So qute ๐Ÿ™‚ I never see treaures like that here in Holland. I think they are too modern…i really have to search the internet and hundreds of markets for just a few treasures. But it is worth it though ๐Ÿ™‚ Enjoy all of it! Greetings from Aina

  22. ohmerci Says:

    Thank you for sharing, I believe that your biggest find was the little boy. And his biggest find was YOU. Thank you so much for being there for him. With Kindness, Mary

  23. Julie Says:

    That was a very moving story! Sure wish we knew how it ended for that little boy…The sadness of it was cushioned by the sight of your lovely creations. I have come back to your blog several times since I first read this post, just to look at that adorable basket with the Easter bunny on it! It makes me smile each and every time! You are such a creative lady!

  24. MarilynH Says:

    I got so caught up in your story I forgot to look at the pages you made for my book!!! I can’t believe what you did! just gorgeous!! oh, I love them!
    thanks Lilia!

  25. iHanna Says:

    What a sad story of the boy. Call the police and ask what happened, that is what I would’ve done. If you explain that you helped they will tell you when the mother came and maybe how she explained what happened?!
    Beautiful finds, I can’t belive the flea markets you find – with so much paper godness all the time! amazing

  26. Jen Says:

    How heartbreaking! You are so sweet to have helped out. You are clearly like me and internalize these things though. How do you shake that off? I wish you could find out what happened to the little guy.

  27. Zabrina Says:

    It’s sad. Unfortunately there are women that should not have kids. We hear so much of terrible stories every day…
    BTW, I am also from AZ and I am heading to Phoenix area this weekend. Have you ever heard about any Estate sales in Paradise Valley?

  28. svenja Says:

    i love the pages,so colorful!!!!

  29. Penny Says:

    I so hope the little guy will get with someone who loves him. That is so sad. Breaks my heart in two. On a brighter note, I am so envious of your flea market finds. We don’t have anything around my way that’s as cool as the goodies you come across. Love your work!

  30. jo Says:

    i’m a piano teacher, and OH MY GOSH!! I would kill to find such vintage music scores in Singapore- but… it’s virtually impossible. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    Lucky u! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

